Image

Power In the Doing

This meme comes from Your Writer Platform (I know, I know, my platform doesn't look as though I'm heeding much of her advice). I highly recommend this resource, and would even subscribe if I were you!

This meme comes from Your Writer Platform (I know, I know, my platform doesn’t look as though I’m heeding much of her advice). I highly recommend this resource, and would even subscribe if I were you!

Every Monday, I post an appealing photo slathered-over with a catchy quote about something pertaining to my current writing life on my writers group page. This past Monday, this quote from R.A. Salvatore pertained very well.

What I wrote to personalize the experience resounded with my fellow group members. It’s resounded with me throughout the rest of the week. And I have found focusing on what I AM doing (rather than what I’m not) a most confidence-boosting motivator. 

  “As the second book in my series continues to let me make notes about how/where/why to revise it, it stubbornly refuses to release the ‘when.’ I’ve thought a lot about quitting lately. Deleting the ole’ writer page on Facebook, removing print copies from stores, and pulling out of Amazon. Then my blog would have to come down because it’s all about trying to like my self-published book. I could pile everything I’ve ever written in a barrel, stand over it with a match…
“But then the barrel becomes a plastic storage tub. In a dark corner of my basement.
“And I remember that there is that other project I really wanted to revise once I’d finished this one. And I see my scraggly stacks of writing things piled around my desk.
“I plan to start that revision by mapping out the story arc.
“I resolve to carve some set writing time out of my schedule. And ask my friend for the print copy I gave her. I could start work on it by this afternoon…
“I’m not a quitter. I’m a writer.”

As long as you haven’t quit, you’ll find there is power simply in continuing to do.

One thought on “Power In the Doing

Leave a Reply

